Long Time, No Write

Well, this is awkward. I just checked and my last published post was on December 31, 2016, to judge people who celebrate New Year’s. Though I am not that different now, I am certainly more tolerant of other people’s coping mechanisms. In the second half of 2016, I was a 4th-year student of engineering and hated it to my very core. This blog, at that time, was supposed to help me keep in touch with the ways of writing and help me find a friend in this lonely world. I had thought that this would help me become a writer someday.

Though not a writer, I certainly did become an editor and currently work as a sub-editor with a daily newspaper in Hyderabad, Telangana. I had the privilege and opportunity to chase what I wanted. An identity for myself.

As a journalist, I have wanted to broadcast my opinion into the world multiple times in the past few years, but do we want to hear the opinion of another cis-gendered Baman man? Today, I realise that this can just be my journal and won’t be the space for ‘hot takes’. The only ‘hot take’ I am currently interested in is that ‘Bamans suck’. They, and sadly also me, are leeches who just take from society without giving anything in return. In a country like India, marred by multiple problems, the matter of casteism is something that simply can’t be ignored.

I don’t claim to be an expert on caste issues, but the amount of Bamanism I have seen in my life is enough for me to write about its horrors. I hope that this will space will be a space for that.

Over the next few months, I hope to rework the website and change this into something that will broadcast my thoughts and views on the evils of Bamanism, with some sneak peek into my life.

One thought on “Long Time, No Write

Leave a comment